Switching hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2004, 06:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Switching hard drives

OK, I'm taking my 30GB out of my old computer and putting it in my new one. Do I just delete everything in it, when its in the new one. And I bought a smaller HD for the old computer. But what would happen to the programs installed in the old one, would I have to reformat?

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if your computer has another IDE port (which it should) I would say don't replace the 30GB Hard Drive, just use your new one as extra storage
after you put in a brand new hard drive, you will have to format it before you can use it. restart to DOS and type fdisk
it will tell you what to do from there

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

If you're putting it into a system that has a completely different motherboard and/or other components then yes you have to format. You can't stick on a HD that was installed on another system and have it work flawlessly by switching em out. Any major hardware change usually requires a format
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330

I just did this a few days ago. You should not have a problem switching the hard drive it should boot right up on the computer unless the drivers from the old computer are still installed on it
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom

What you do is you backup all the files on the 30 gig one and restore them on your new drive (previously formatted) that way you'll have the same files on ur old computer and a 30gig drive for ur new one that can be eraced and formatted without loosing any data
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28

A good utility is Norton Ghost - simply hook up both hard drives, ghost the smaller drive onto the larger drive. Once finished, you can safely remove the smaller drive and still have all of your files accessible from the larger drive.

jfolkert is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.