switching from a dell to AMD build? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 08:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Default

hmm.. I thought I wanted a PCI express? don't I? But I think I found something decent if I'm looking for PCI express this.


I've installed ram, graphics cards, and hard drives into computers before. Just never started from scratch. I'm not very good with configuring things though (thats what I thought you meant buy "It's when you boot it up and start using it that it gets tricky lol.") Thanks for all your help again.

Edit:

Also can anyone suggest a nice case? The one I have now is very easy to get into, and I like that. The problem is that its so small you can't fit anything in it. So I'd like a decent sized case that is very easy to get into. If anyone knows of anything tell me about it. Thank you again for all the help.
__________________

yahn is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yahn
hmm.. I thought I wanted a PCI express? don't I? But I think I found something decent if I'm looking for PCI express this.


I've installed ram, graphics cards, and hard drives into computers before. Just never started from scratch. I'm not very good with configuring things though (thats what I thought you meant buy "It's when you boot it up and start using it that it gets tricky lol.") Thanks for all your help again.

Edit:

Also can anyone suggest a nice case? The one I have now is very easy to get into, and I like that. The problem is that its so small you can't fit anything in it. So I'd like a decent sized case that is very easy to get into. If anyone knows of anything tell me about it. Thank you again for all the help.
yes you want PCI-E. the link you posted earlier was the same as one even earlier lol. it was jsut normal PCI. might have been a mistake.

Cooler Master makes nice cases.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Here's you a case-


Antec PERFORMANCE TX TX1050B Black Steel Server Computer Case 500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158

$135 + $15.99 shipping

Big, black, and beefy. And it is by Antec, so you know that its good. PLUS, it comes with an Antec 500W modular PSU! What more could you want???... unless you want a side window...

Definately go with the socket 939 mobo and CPU. The DFI that was suggested is a great one. Socket 754 is lame, with no dual channel RAM.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

I <3 that case. I have two just like it.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 12:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Default

hmm.. that seems a little expensive.. I was looking for one with a thermostat anyways.. It doesn't have to be top of the line, just easy to get into and expandable.. I don't really care if it looks that nice, and it doesn't have to have a thermostat.. anyways thanks for all your help again..
yahn is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
hmm.. that seems a little expensive..
You get what you pay for. Plus it has a $50-$70 PSU included.

Quote:
I was looking for one with a thermostat anyways..
So you put one in one of the 5 1/2" bays. They are cheap and easy to install.

Quote:
It doesn't have to be top of the line, just easy to get into and expandable..
It ain't top of the line. That would be like a ThermalTake Armor or Kandalf case, which run from $140-$190 without a PSU.

Quote:
anyways thanks for all your help again..
De nada. Buy what you want... it is your money after all. We just offer suggestions.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.