Switching Cases Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default Switching Cases Question

I'm planning on buying a desktop from tigerdirect before I go to college. They have great prices, the only thing that I don't like is the lame systemax cases. If I bought a "Systemax" computer from them, could I take EVERYTHING out and pop it into a new/better case?
__________________

grego is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Sure.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Well...would it all function the same? I don't have very much experience fully dismantaling or building computers. If all thats involved is physically taking it apart and then reassembling I'd be fine. Would there be anything complicated about it? It seems straightforward, but then again, I really wouldn't know.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It's just a box, dude.

Make sure the case is for the right motherboard form-factor (such as ATX) and make sure it has enough open slots (for your drives). If you have (for instance) 3 drives that you access from the front (like CD-ROMs) and you buy a case that only has 2 open slots, yer screwed. Otherwise, it's just a box. As long as yer mobo type is compatible, you'll be fine.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I know it's just a box, dude. But I've never heard of a mobo form-factor (such as ATX) in my life. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.