SVGA Connection Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Question SVGA Connection Question

ok, I'm working on making an SVGA extension cable and I can only have 12 conductors to work with. Are some of the pins unnecessary? From what I've researched so far, I think pins 5, 9, and 12 aren't used at all, but for some SVGA standards (VESA), they are.

Here's links to what I've found:
http://www.blackbox.com/faxbacks/19000/19785.PDF
http://www.proav.de/video/monitor-pinout.html
http://www.monitorworld.com/Cables/video_standards.html

I'm really confused by all these SVGA standards.

Please HelP!

__________________

InanimateCarbon is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: SVGA Connection Question

Quote:
Originally posted by InanimateCarbon
ok, I'm working on making an SVGA extension cable and I can only have 12 conductors to work with. Are some of the pins unnecessary? From what I've researched so far, I think pins 5, 9, and 12 aren't used at all, but for some SVGA standards (VESA), they are.

Here's links to what I've found:
http://www.blackbox.com/faxbacks/19000/19785.PDF
http://www.proav.de/video/monitor-pinout.html
http://www.monitorworld.com/Cables/video_standards.html

I'm really confused by all these SVGA standards.

Please HelP!

There are no SVGA connections,only VGA.Then you install Windows and your video card SVGA drivers.
__________________

batman is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

ugh. Ok, now I'm still confused. Here's an additional link to add to the mayhem.

http://home6.inet.tele.dk/moppe/109Sconn.html

According to that one, I can connect pins 4,10,and 11 together. Since pin 9 has no connection, that'll let me use the 12 conductors.

Opinions?
InanimateCarbon is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Lightbulb oops

I didn't quite put that right.Wouldn't it be easier to buy a ready made one ? Is Radio Shack near you or check the online store.Why is your monitor so far from the case ?
batman is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Cool ...after much toying around with a multimeter

I checked out several SVGA cables and monitors. All of them had continuity between pins 4, 10, and 11.

I wired up the cable extension in this fashion and after much hesitation, I plugged it in between the existing monitor cable and my PC. I was really happy to discover that the cable works and neither the monitor or my PC started smoking.
InanimateCarbon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.