Surge Protector or UPS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2005, 02:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default Surge Protector or UPS?

I am about to get my new PC, and I would like to get a new Surge Protector to protect it. Should I go with a regular Power strip, or one with UPS?

I want to get the best protection I can.

Thanks for any help,

__________________

vegasphil is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Surge protecter...ok

depends...

i have a cheap ($2) surge bar hooked up to my computer, monitor, and speakers. A surge protector should work great, dont spend $ on UPS, as long as you just dont plug your computer directly into the wall.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

If you like to run your computer all the time then get an UPS >_<
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

If you can't afford to have ur computer "turn off" for whatever reason (spikes), then get a UPS.. Otherwise a surge bar would do..
Chankama is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I would recommend UPS(uninterruptable power supply), because it will kepp it regulated
geekette is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

APC BackUPS 350VA suits most people.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, if you have ify wiring in the house or out in the country instead causing power dips and spikes then get a power surge conditioner and not a UPS. There is a difference. It's best to use them in conjunction together or get a combo.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 09:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If you like your computer you will use a UPS. I have a 500VA.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.