Surge protector - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2005, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default Surge protector

I saw one at bestbuy and looking at I decided not to get it. I saw it only had 15amps of current is this good? Because my PSU gives 18amps on the 12v rail, will it affect the PSU?
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

No one knows?
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

I thought this was an easy q...
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you computer gives 18amps @ 12 volt dc

the surge protector handles 15amp @ 125 volt ac, which is what every normal house outlet holds (an AC outlets is usually 20amps. I run me a special circuit that send 30amp @ 125 volt, But I have a Pro poweramp that produce 2600 watt RMS, plus a few other thing). an 15amp surge protect is good for 1850watts continous power. a 18 amps 12volts circuit is equal to about 100watts and that is not even continous watts, but the process is actually more complicated than that as your Ac convertor in your psu uses even more watts

but you will be ok. you won't even be close to do any damage
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

it shouldn't but you can always bring it back
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you psu rating is the draw from your computer, so a 550 watt power supply will either draw 550 max or 550 continous (depend on maker) which translte to about 5 amps . the would be the max that any 1 computer would pull by itself. the other accessories will equal about 100-500 more watts, so you will be ok with a 15 amp surge protector
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.