Supported Resolutions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2004, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default Supported Resolutions

Does the 9600XT support widescreen resolutions? Specifically 1680 x 1050

When I check my cards resolutions it shows 1600x1024 and 1600x1200 but no 1680x1050. Guy is trying to hook up his PC to his apple widescreen monitor believe it's 20 or 21" can't remember specifically. Thanks in advance
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 01:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

it must be written on box, what resolutions your graphic card can support, i dont think it can support this one.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

do any of you know what card would support the new 20" apple cinema display? let me know.

j
archanix is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

These are the supported display resolutions for the ATI Radeon 9800XT model:


640x480
800x600
1024x768
1152x864
1280x1024
1600x1200
1920x1080
1920x1200
1920x1440
2048x1536

MAXIMUM 3D RESOLUTIONS
65K colors 2048x1536
16.7M colors 2048x1536


Have fun.
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

There's a place in the registry where you can edit screen resolutions to anything you want. If you want 1680x1050, then as long as the card supports up to it or over it then it shouldn't have too much of a problem displaying it.

I'm sure someone here will know where this is in the registry; if not, I'll have a look and come back later and post it for you.

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If your g-card doesn't support that, though, you'll run into big problems. The OS can only instruct the card's firmware to do what the card's firmware and hardware can handle. You're also going to notice some computation lags, as the processing technologies (software) are usually optimized for the "supported" resolutions.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

so would it be recommended to sell this monitor and buy a different one? perhaps not one made by apple.

but i really love this widescreen, bright, crisp real estate.
archanix is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yer using a mac monitor on a windows machine?

...Mac doesn't operate like PC, so you're gonna have to do some tweaking or comprimising somewhere.

My suggestion...stick with PC monitors.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

well i am a mac user switching to the pc scene. I recently had a 12" powerbook / 20" cinema display combo. This display SAYS that it works with both PC's and Mac's. So I don't see why i should have to comprimise or tweak at all.
archanix is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Just incase you want to try this:
Go to Start > Run, type regedit and click OK. In the registry, navigate to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Hardwa re Profiles\Current\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\ VIDEO

Expand the trees in that section and look for entries DefaultSettings.XResolution and DefaultSettings.YResolution. Set the X figure to 1680 and the Y figure to 1050. If there are multiple entries, then change them all to 1680x1050.

Once this is done, reboot your system.
Your card will need to support custom resolutions, but if you change this and once rebooted your screen becomes garbled; restart your computer, enter Safe Mode and delete the display device. Also, re-edit the registry back to a standard supported resolution (1024x768, 1280x1024 or something along those lines), restart and boot as normal; then reinstall it from there. If you run on Windows XP, it will naturally automatically detect it, and if your drivers have been kept in the cache, then it should install these for you also.

TMT.
__________________

TMT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.