Super 7900 GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2006, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Waphlez's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Super 7900 GT

EVGA has a 7900 GT "signature" clocked at 600mhz core and 1600mhz memory for $399 for a limited time. If you OC the core to 650mhz you have your self a 7900 GTX. Not sure how much OCing headroom is left in it though but eVGA markets it as "600+ MHz".

So for 100 dollars cheaper you may get yourself a 7900 GTX. Even though you can get a X1900 XT for 40-60 dollars more. But another thing, is that single slot cooler enough for a card clocked at 650/1600?

Waphlez is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985

i trust evga so i guess it is. but i doubt there would be much more room to OC it like u said


Baez is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237

i never really saw the point in factory overclocked cards..
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

Factory overclocks are nice because they give you an overclocked card that is still covered by warranty.
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Waphlez's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976

Well, these cards might use a core that didn't quite make it to 7900 GTX clocks but were higher then the 7900GT's clocks. Remember, the chips that couldn't cut it being clocked at the GTX's speeds in testing are put into the 7900GTs; so I think they have chips that almost made it to 7900GTX but couldn't hit 650mhz, this would explain the limited amount on these cards. But that would mean it won't hit 650mhz otherwise they would have been put in GTX cards.
Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.