Is this suffice for SQL/Oracle? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2004, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default Is this suffice for SQL/Oracle?

Intel Pentium M 725
2 x 256 MB Kingmax (Dual Channel DDR333)
DFI 855GME-MFG (Socket-479 Motherboard)
Apex SuperCase w/ 350W PSU
Optorite DVD +/- RW
LG 52x CD-Rom Drive
Generic Floppy Drive
Chaintech Geforce FX 5200
Maxtor 60 GB HDD
2 x 36.6 GB HDD Ultra 320
LSI Logic Ultra320 controller on PCI-X

Is this enough for a home network and SQL/Oracle work (I'm an Oracle/SQL DBA)?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Thanks! I'm planning on overclocking that processor to 1.92 GHz. At least, that motherboard fully unlocks the processor multiplier.

Any other opinions?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I thought all Intel multipliers are locked?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Well, TheMajor, the DFI 855GME-MFG board is an enthusiast oriented board. It is specially designed to fully unlock the processor multiplier.

Yes, all Intel multipliers are locked, but specially designed motherboards can unlock them.

I'm actually, going to try to run this on these specs:
10x multiplier down from 16x
200 MHz base clock up from 100 MHz
2000 MHz clock up from 1600 MHz
800 MHz FSB up from 400 MHz
Under these specs, that 725 should perform better than ever.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I cannot find anything about it on the DFI website.
As far as I know the CPU determines if its unlockable or not. Not the mobo.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

The Major, here is the link: http://www.dfi.com.tw/Press/press_he...33.jsp&SITE=NA

"To equip overclockers with the best platform to work with, DFI's new Pentium M desktop motherboard boasts a robust BIOS that is packed with optimization options at the widest ranges. Advanced BIOS features include adjustable CPU clock (100 to 250 MHz), adjustable CPU ratio (6 to infinite), adjustable FSB to memory ratio (1:1, 4:3, 5:3), asynchronized PCI/AGP modes (33/66, 36/73, 40/80), and built in stability testing for both memory and CPU. In intensive gaming, DFI's new 855GME-MGF with an overclocked future Pentium M processor will flies past competing platforms with ease. Compared to the performance of Athlon64 4000+ and Pentium 4 3.4 GHz Extreme Edition in Doom3, DFI's new solution tops the chart with a large margin lead (see chart)."
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't see multiplier. Do u mean CPU ratio? 6x100 would be 6000MHz.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Yes cpu ratio, that is the term used. I saw screenshots of the BIOs when i searched on google.com
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I don't see multiplier. Do u mean CPU ratio? 6x100 would be 6000MHz.
uh wouldnt 6x100 be 600
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.