Stupid Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2008, 03:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Stupid Question

Why are there no tri-core processors?
5-core?
6-core?
etc?
__________________

MySoox is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 11:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Stupid Question

There are tri core processors. AMD's phenom has three core processors available.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Stupid Question

Thre main reason in Intel started multicores with 1 chip, 2 cores... so their quads are 2 chipds.

AMD, now staRTED their quads as 4 actual chips.... The "tri-cores" are actually defective quads...

More thanm 4 cores gets really hot.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Stupid Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MySoox View Post
Why are there no tri-core processors?
5-core?
6-core?
etc?
there is no stupid questions

the above poster is correct about tri core
Newegg.com - Phenom X3, Processors - Desktops, CPUs / Processors, Computer Hardware

but amd is also working on 8core and 12core chips.
these will be release late 09 or in 2010 as i have read.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Question about compatibility + recommendations missilekt7 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-03-2008 11:44 AM
Stupid question... Millenniumtiger System Upgrades 1 08-23-2008 11:00 PM
Stupid question time mossy1881 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-23-2008 02:30 PM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.