stuck up!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default stuck up!!

My bro's helping his friend to fix her com. I've upgraded the ram to a Kingston PC133 256mb SD RAM. Formatted her hdd and tried installing win xp pro from Win 98. Her hdd is 15Gb. When her hdd is formatted, the com naturally restarts to continue with the setup rite? Then it continues with the setup to load some more files n stuff. The prob is that it always hangs when its loading the files. We don't know what the cause is. We've tried installing the OS using my com but same thing happens. The thing is that the sound, video n all r integrated. So we used the minimum hardware by disabling it fom the bios but it still doesn't werk. Any ideas what could be the prob? His friend just uses the com to check mail n surf net n all, so she doesn't need anything else that's new. I'd really appreciate any help given. Thanks 4 yer replies.
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The computer may be to old to run XP.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I think the CD is most likely messed up

What happens when you use a bootable operating system like Knoppix though?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You are installing XP pro as an upgrade, Right? Personally, if you don't need to save any data on the 15 gig drive....I'd use a win 98 startup disc in the floppy and go to fdisk. Delete the existing dos partition, put in a new dos partition. Insert the xp pro upgrade cd and make sure that the cdrom is the first boot device in the cmos.(change it back to the hd after the installation files are copied by set-up). slow format using NTFS. Now.....you might want to run the XP hardware conflict utility to make sure that there is nothing in that puter that XP doesn't like! Sounds like a hardware compatibility issue. AND...why not just install 98SE? If she is only interested in a minimalized computer for home or school stuff, 98SE is a great OS. Why XP pro?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 02:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

anyway we've already tried that too. it still doesn't werk with win 98. has to b hardware prob. i think the mobo is bust. anyway we're gonna change to a diff mobo. same thing except that this 1 uses a slot 1 CPU. so v gotta get a converter now. anyways, thank 4 the info. i'll keep you updated if anything.
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.