Stuck in Safe Mode. please help.... or else I'm in lots of trouble!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2004, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Angry Stuck in Safe Mode. please help.... or else I'm in lots of trouble!!!!

Thank you if you read this, I really need help...

I started up a friends computer, hoping to email myself a file I had previously written on it. I decided that I would listen to music I had on my flash drive while I was doing so. I unplugged the keyboard so that my flash drive could fit. The speakers didn't work. I took the flash drive out and put the keyboard back in. Next, I set up a private internet connection, which I would use to send my file. I connected, but nothing loaded. After being frustrated, I restarted the computer after disconnecting.

When I restarted, windows xp pro told me that there was a hardware failure and I had a few options. Some of them were "safe mode", "system restore", and "start up normally"

I chose "start up normally", thinking that windows should auto detect the keyboard... etc.

Instead of starting up normally, it just rebooted, taking me back to the original screen. This time I chose the "safe mode" option. I started up in safe mode, and the first thing I did was go to management to scan for hardware changes. No new hardware found. So, I rebooted. However, when I finally got windows to boot up I still have the same 4 bit colors and 800x600 resolution.

All the graphics appear as though they are the safe mode graphics... The only reason I would think that it isn't safe mode is because it doesn't say so in the corner of the screen when I start up.

The video card is fine.

What happened to the graphics? Or is it actually a glitch? Am I somehow still in safe mode? How can I fix this? (w/ no xp disc)

thank you again,



good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75

Restart again, if you get into regular Windows and the graphics are crap, find out what make of video card and get the new drivers

digitalninjas is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

agreed, unless you haven't already tried to change the colors and reso
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177


Did you try to change it?
Try it both in safe and in normal mode.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.