stress test a video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default stress test a video card

Is there anything that can stress test your video card until it fails? I know of the aquamark and 3dmark, but they dont run until an error. There must be something liek prime 95 for the video card.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Get ATI tool...it can gradually overclock your video card until it does fail so you can get the maximum, most efficient overclock.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I would say that is your best bet for ATI especially.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I am not talking about over clocking, I dont want to overclock right now. I am talking about testing the stability of your card. Does ati tool do this?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

what are we trying to achieve with this?
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Stability issues with my video card. Trying to solve the VPU recovery error.

I get the VPU error when playing bf1942dc, but not when running 3DMark03 or 05. I run them twice each in a row, but no error, but when playing a game i do. Since the 3dmark test lasts 10 minutes, i dont think it gives it enough time to result in that error. When playing bf1942dc, from 40 minutes on the error comes up. That is what I am trying to figure out.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Well if you think that 3dmark05 doesnt run long enough, set it to run the tests 5 times in a row. I hear 05 is pretty rough on video cards.
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.