Stream Processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2008, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Question Stream Processors

Why does ATi list their stream processors as " stream processing units" and nVidia list them as "processing cores"? whats the difference?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 02:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Stream Processors

there is no difference, its like ati has crossfire and nvidia has sli it's the same thing just worded differently.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 03:59 AM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Stream Processors

They each want to have their own distinctive brand even though both companies are very close. They hope that their name will stand out to you more than the other.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 04:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Stream Processors

ATI is usually the cheaper option of the two. Which isn't half bad, if you look at their POWERFUL 4800 series.

Nvidia is usually on top of drivers and offer very good quality when it comes to their video cards. While ATI usually has driver issues after a new card has been released.

A LOT of games usually have the logo "Meant to be played with Nvidia." So I m guessing Nvidia has more money to spend when it comes to promoting their products.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 04:25 AM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Stream Processors

The meant to be played with nVidia also means that the game utilizes the Physx that the new cards drivers support I believe.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Stream Processors

Crysis is one of those.. but I don't think it works with Geforce PhysX
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Stream Processors

crysis doesnt support physx, it has physics built into the engine.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Stream Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
While ATI usually has driver issues after a new card has been released.
As a person with an 8800 GTS 320MB, 8800 GT 512MB, two 3870's and two 4870's, I'd say you're probably not likely to be affected much if at all by driver issues unless you're using crossfire. Then your biggest concern is usually performance scaling in a few new games.

Also, Nvidia drivers are not issue free.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Stream Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Also, Nvidia drivers are not issue free.
I realize that, but since they are always relabeling their cards.They have less issues with drivers then ATI does.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Stream Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
I realize that, but since they are always relabeling their cards.They have less issues with drivers then ATI does.
How does relabeling your cards give you less driver issues?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leak: ATI Radeon 4800 Gets 480 Steam processors TheOtis New Technology and Products 37 05-06-2008 04:42 AM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM
New 8800GTS with 112 stream processors might come out soon maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-03-2007 10:49 PM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
Added 1 Gig of Ram and CPU is SLOWER!? czarnybaran5150 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-08-2007 12:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.