Streaking on CRT's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2004, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Streaking on CRT's

I've been told by many people that CRT's dont streak....well they streak (especially on doom 3). They streak as much as LCD's exept theres no blur. Is this normal?
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Mine streaks in Doom 3...it doesn't bother me too bad. It may just be a problem with the Doom 3 engine.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

CRT's only streak if u cant maintain a decent FPS in games.

example - u might run Doom3 smoothly, but encounter a intence battle scene were u would notice streaking... your fps is prolly cut inhalf at times depending on how high u run your settings and what your system can handle.

EDIT: i just noticed your familiar with Q3, so u prolly know what i mean... like when everyone is using the plasma gun in q3, u notice(well i did, since my pc sux) a big hit to the FPS.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I don't get a single drop in frame rate whats so ever in most parts in doom and it still seems to streak.....even farcry does in scenes where there is no framerate drop sometimes.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

what is the average frame rate the game is running at? and what frequency is your monitor on?
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Usually around 60 FPS in doom 3 and I have a my crt at 85 hertz.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 02:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

thats your average FPS right? cause if that your max, the average is prolly something like 45, witch could show streaking.

if not though and u average 60fps or higher, then maybe your mistaking a different problem for streaking? witch way is the screen tearing for u(what direction is the line), horizontal or vertical?
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

6o fps is my average fps and I get streak in both directions but I notice a streak that travels up the screen alot more in doom 3. Could just be the framerates I suppose....sometimes in a REALLY heavy fight Ill get pulled down to 45-40fps.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

u cant get streaking with a line that travels up the screen, a monitors pixels are refreshed from top to bottom, causing screan tearing with a line that apreas horizontaly.

a fame freezing can prolly cause a vertical line. have u overclocked anything?

just to test, run Doom on the 1 lower resolution setting, disable Antialiasing and Vsync, and run it in 16bit res, instead of 32.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.