Strangest Static I've dealt with - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default Strangest Static I've dealt with

Here's what happened:
I got up from my chair putting my boots on in the morning, and reached for the computer to boot it up. I feel a strong shock sent through my finger into the reset button (I accidentally reached for it instead of the power button).

Here's the symptoms:
It won't post. Nothing is happening as far as any kind of software starting. I turn it on and my cooling fans and my lights turn on. Like I said, there's nothing happening at all software-wise.

What did I fry? I have an idea of what the problem is, but I won't skew anyone's ideas by putting my idea out there.

Note: I also tried a bare-boot with nothing but my motherboard, processor, video card, and ram. I let it boot, and think it's not my video card. I turned up the volume to listen for the music windows plays when it loads. It didn't happen. I also tried booting it with no ram to see if it still did the same thing. It sure does.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If the PC was plugged in the charge should have gone to the earth. I would go straight to assuming that it is the motherboard. Good thing it is still new so you can RMA it.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Check your house grounding, you can get testers for aorund 5$. Alot of rural area's (You sound like you may live in one) are not wired properly.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm in a dormitory, so I'm sure the electrical is pretty stout... Other ideas welcome

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

You cant boot a PC with out ram...it could be the PSU u shorted or MOBO get a new mobo
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You cant boot a PC with out ram
no but generally if you take out the RAM then all of a sudden you start getting a beep code, that can indicate that the RAM is at fault.

I'd just take out your RAM, if it's silent, then put the RAM back in and take out the video card, if it beeps, then it could be the video card.....if not, well then, theres not a whole lot you can really do besides trying to swap parts. You can try doing it without the CPU and seeing if it gives you beeps, but if nothing happens through it all, then it's probably the mobo
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd2800
You cant boot a PC with out ram...it could be the PSU u shorted or MOBO get a new mobo
If booting == beeping, yes it can boot. You're not going anywhere without ram :P
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Took all my parts to my friend's house. My processor, ram, and video card are in the clear, leaving nothing required for a bios boot. The motherboard is fried... I'll RMA it this week. Thanks for the thoughts.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

If the shock you experienced was strong enough to feel, you can rest assured that your body discharged well over 10,000 volts into your poor PC. Unfortunately, it only takes a 400 volt discharge to damage sensitive motherboard circuitry.

A static shock that puts a sting on your finger can be as high as 40,000 volts. OUCH!!!!
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
A static shock that puts a sting on your finger can be as high as 40,000 volts. OUCH!!!!
Wow never knew it was that much

Anyway if i would of posted once this was posted you would of had an answer, same thing happened to me, exept it was on my friends computer and he has really, really nice parents who just said "ahh it's alright, we can just get a new motherboard"

He ended up getting a whoile new PC, which sucks cause it's a pre built with intel integrated graphics, a celeron, and 512mb of RAM.
LOL he tried to play COD2 on it, other dumbass friend sad he could.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.