strange problem with building new pc.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default strange problem with building new pc..

ok, ive recently ordered the componets for my new pc from new egg. they came and me and my friend put it together. we installed the parts and everything seems to be plugged into the right place, except when i turn it on, it dosent work. the motherbaord's green light comes on showing that it has power.when i press the power button the cpu fan, the video card fan and the case fans all start to spin but stop.

my friend thinks that the power supply isnt compatible with the system.do you guys think he is right? i dont have any other ideas of what could be wrong.

the specs of the pc are:
raidmax cobra 822W case
AMD Athlon 3500+ Processor
nvidia 6600gt video card
1 gb corsair value ram
maxtor 250 gb hdd
not the best, but good enough and fairly affordable.

HELP
__________________

Armethion is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, what motherboard are you using?

I'm willing to bet that if you check the manual, "Look for the CMOS jumper." Check to see if the jumper is in the "NORMAL or CLEAR" position. If it's in CLEAR position, move it to normal. Press the power button and thank me later.

Some motherboards ship with this jumper in the clear position to save the life of the CMOS battery.

If it's in the normal position, then recheck the cases frontpanel connectors with the MOBO's connecters. Make sure you have everything connected properly. Colored wires are usually + and black wires always ground.

Repost and let me know what's happened.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

wow...i forgot the motherboard.
its an ASUS AN8-SLI Premium
Armethion is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Okay raidmax PSU's are garbage

This sounds like the lack of a POWER_GOOD signal from the PSU. Very likely.

Do you have a multimeter?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

the jumper is normal..
multimeter.. dont think so
Armethion is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Since by your birthdate your young, you should ask your dad if he has one.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I agree those PSU's are garbage. But, I don't think it's an issue here. I've had that same exact problem before. The MOBO light shows power. You press the power button and all the fans spin for a second and stop.

Then I found the CMOS jumper:

The manual said, "PINS 1 - 2 = Normal" & "PINS 2 - 3 = Clear"
I was assuming that the pins were: ( 1 - 2 - 3 ) left to right.
Wrong - They were: (3 - 2 - 1) the whole time i was trying to power up this sucker the jumper was in the clear position. When I put it in normal.... ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM....
YEAH BABY....
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Im not saying the PSU isnt powerful enough to start it

But if a PSU never generates a PWR_GOOD signal, the computer can never boot.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Does that PSU have a 20PIN mobo power connecter? Because if it does i'm pretty sure that MOBO requires a 24pin power connecter, seeing as that's a PCIexpress - SLI board.

CHRIS?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

hmm, its not the jumper, but i think i found the problem in another thread. the mobo has a 24 pin power slot, and the psu's power connector is a 20 pin. wouldnt that make it not work?
__________________

Armethion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.