Strange motherboard!!!!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2004, 03:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

well like i said good luck
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

get another cdrom which works fine from a friend or so and try it if its detected then there must be a problem with the cdrom..... to check a bit of your cdrom get an audio cd put it in and press the next button beside eject if you 1 also connect headphone or speakers with the stereo out put in front of the cdrom ..if it plays the cd it means your cdrom is reading cd's ......!!
__________________

Vnet is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks for your help Vnet but I cant do the CD-ROM test because my computer wont boot into Windows XP with the CD-ROM connected to the mobo.

Regards
James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

no you dont need to boot anywhere to check the cdrom take the ide cable out and let the power cable there.... and then try the audio stuff i said above...
Vnet is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Vnet is right. Try it. As he sad, check the ability of CDROM to read disks.
BUT you shouldn't conect the CDROM to motherboard to do this test. The only thing that MUST be connected to CDROM to perform this test is the power cable from your power supply, and headphones/speakers directly connected to CDROM to hear something.
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

SAD NEWS -- I dont have earphones or such that will plug in.
WEIRD NEWS-- I did put a Music cd in just to see if the CD-ROM would spin it up and did, I could hear it spin and doing its normal thing so I thought I will plug my IDE back in and I did and rebooted my system and it booted up with no probs so I went into My Computer to get into the CD Drive but it wasnt there, so I then booted and went into the BIOS and it says it is not installed.

James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Oh I forgot to say I can hear it making its normal sounds when I started the PC up so there isnt any probs with the CD-ROM..
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

I did hook up a diffren hard drive as a slave but didnt enter into that hard drive or anything as that hard drive was broken.

James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

There are no problems in Device Manager. I will try System Restore and report back, cheers.

James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:26 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Is the CD-ROM recognized in BIOS? If not, try swapping your CD and HDD IDE cables. Make sure that the jumper settings are correct. If each of them is on their own IDE channel, they both should be set to master. If the CD-ROM is recognized in BIOS, it is possible that the XP drivers became corrupted, do the following.

With XP under control panel, double click on system, select the hardware tab then device manager. Check your CD-ROM drivers. Is it there. If it is, delete it and then reboot as they might simply have become corrupted (same thing happened once with my DVD). During boot-up, XP will recognize new hardware being installed and will reload correct drivers.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.