Strange motherboard!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2004, 02:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default Strange motherboard!!!!!!

Hey guys,

First off great forum, full of awesome information.

My problem is that since just the other day (dont know what I did to my computer that day) my computer will only boot up and run into Windows XP when my floppy drive and CD-ROM drive is unplugged from my motherboard. If I plug them in (as they were before the other day and ran with out any problems) my computer will boot up and just after the POST screen it will come up with the message "Diskette drive 0 seek failure
Primary drive 0 not found
Secondary drive 0 not found
Secondary drive 1 not found"

My computer is a Dell Dimension 2400, Intel Celeron 2.4 GHz
256 MB of RAM
chipset - Intel 82801 DB

If any one could help me out with this I will be very happy, thanks guys/girls.

Regards
James
__________________

__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Check if your cables right in the correct manner ... and if you have done anything with the jumpers also correct them ... try connecting devices 1 at a time to see if anything conflicts..!!
__________________

Vnet is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks for you post vnet.
The cables are all in their correct places, power cables are all hooked up and jumpers are in the correct and orignal place.
The only conflect I get is when the CD-ROM and floppy drive is connected at the same time as the hard drive. When all 3 are connected at the same time if I go into the BIOS settings it says that there is no Hard drive or CD-ROM installed just the floppy drive. Then I connect just CD-ROM and I get the same problem as before but the BIOS only finds the Hard drive. Then with just the Hard Drive connected it will run fine with no problems. The CD-ROM and floppy drive wont work of coarse.

Regards
James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

Hmm, is your boot sequence in the correct order? goto bios and check it out
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what happens with just floppy and HDD?
- if that works properly it may be the CDROM drive

are the CDROM and HDD connected on the same channel? if so, try connecting them on seperate channels and see if that helps
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

If your on the same ide cable with the hardrive ... try the cdrom with cable select.... if it still doesn work ...use the secondary ide .... and oh yes also try a new ide cable....
Vnet is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Boot is in correct order, if I just have floppy and HDD connected it runs perfect and the floppy drive works fine BUT... the reason for me thinking the CD-ROM wasnt busted is because if I have that connected and boot the PC up the CD ROM makes that noise that it normally does the the POST is testing it.

Regards
James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

They are on diffrent cables and I have played with the jumpers but with no such luck. I have also changed cables and still no glory.

Regards James
__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Ugh, strange problem. I will brainstorm it some and think...good luck man
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Im starting to think that my motherboard is kinda well..... dieing which isnt a bad thing considering its a Dell.. na jokes. But thats for all your guys help. It is a real strange occurance.

Regards
James
__________________

__________________
Scott Mueller is my hero.
Jarmizz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.