Strange Found New Hardware messages - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Strange Found New Hardware messages

I'm using a P4 2.4mhz machine I built myself in 2002. It has 512 MB RAM and 3 HDDs. The m/board is a Gigabyte 81EXP. It has worked perfectly until yesterday when I got two strange messages at startup. Both were Found New Hardware wizards, one saying the system had found a new RAID facility and the other a new Ethernet adaptor. Both are on the m/board. I was prompted to install the drivers for them.

When I inserted the CD that came with the board, the drivers appeared to install but then changed to an error message saying the installation was unsuccessful as the data was invalid.

If I just hit Cancel on both of these message boxes, the machine goes on to work perfectly.

This happens every time I boot up. It has me baffled. Can anyone give me some advice on what could have gone wrong and how to fix it?

Many thanks.
__________________

Calhob is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

If you have automatic updates ON windows update could have found and downloaded the new drivers, and maybe there is a bug in the drivers it downloaded. I would goto the device manager and select each item you are getting error messages for and rollback to the previous driver.

I know i had a similar problem with my Rhine II ethernet adapter, windows would download the driver/install the driver and when i restarted would ask me to install new hardware again.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
harrytewkesbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 80
Default

Worm is right, but if there are problems, might it not be sensible to disable both the ethernet and the RAID adapters... this way the wrong drivers wont matter so much. Ethernet should be ok, but RAID i'm not at all familiar with. Of course this is irrelevent if you are actually USING RAID and ethernet lool!
__________________
<p style="font-size:65%"><b>The Ebay Rig of Doom!</b>
4200+X2
1800XT
2GB DDR2 667Mhz
19" Viewsonic TFT
Ezcool ATX case @ 450W
Winfast Mobo (2000 Mhz fsb)
Sony Dual Layer DVD-RW+/-
160Gb Hitachi Deskstar 7200 SATA<hr><p style="font-size:65%">£475/$935/Ä705
harrytewkesbury is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Many thanks, Worm and Harry.

No, I don't have auto update on, so that's not the answer, I'm afraid. I've tried to disable and to uninstall both adapters, which I'm not using, but they refuse to go!

Must admit I'm baffled!
Calhob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.