STOP error in windows - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 01:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Why don't you try all the connections with your MB. Disconnect everthing, dust everything off, re-connect everything. Sometimes it is a very simple solution.
__________________

MattTim2004 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Sounds good, try what Matt said.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i have tried that, no luck :/
markie is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

is there anything in the event logs?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

nope, nothing in the event logs, tho it does do a stack dump or something i think after each crash.
markie is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

hmm, I'm stumped. Not RAM...could be anything! Try killing your vid drivers and re-installing them. Get a driver cleaner to ensure you get em completely ripped out.

You need to get the ultimate boot cd and run all the tests on it. I think it has stuff for mobo and ram and hd and what not. See if you can't isolate a potential hardware issue. I think its software though not hardware so try the driver thing first. Even take out all uneed hardware and remove the driver for those too. Could be a conflict.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

it's not software, as i think i said before, i formatted my computer, totally whiped the lot, then reinstalled XP pro, reinstalled the sound card, the latest video drivers for my card, i installed my Virus software, rebooted, went hmmm, i hope this works, opened solitair to have a quick game, and BOOM, crash, with that error, there is no way it could be software related :/
__________________

markie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.