Step Two Completed! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 04:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yes, the new box will have 4 HDD. The primary two will be two identical 120GB Seagate SATA drives, as boot. Then I have a Seagate 80GB IDE, and a Seagate 160GB IDE, to add as secondary storage.

I do a LOT of web editing, graphics work, gaming level design, CAD work, etc, so I suck up a lot of HDD space. My current fun-box has 200GB of storage, and only 10GB are left. So I'm looking forward to slipping into the roomy 480GB capacity of the new comp. I think the SATA's will be great for the system, too. They're faster, at least.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Hey, no shyt, man! I'm gonna run every bench I can on it!

Of course, step 1 is to just get it all to work. I'm hoping it's going to go smooth and I'll just be able to fit everything together, power-on, and load the OS. I already know I need to switch the mobo FSP jumper to handle the 400MHz FSB, because the factory setting is at 100MHz (for 200MHz FSB).

Everything should be set, though. I'm only gonna put in one of the SATA drives, first, and get it all running. Then I'll put in the second SATA and my other two IDE drives.

Man...it's been a while since I built my own machine. I'm nervous 'cause it's my own money this time. Plus, although I deal with hardware all the time, I rarely build an entire machine from scratch. The last time I built a whole machine, cold, from scratch, was about four years ago, and technology has changed!

Give'n me the willies here!

Oh well. I want that greased-weasel machine...so here goes noth'n!
It's like riding a bike, you never forget
also, what PSU did you buy? and what case?
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 08:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
also, what PSU did you buy? and what case?
Check out my first post "Step One Completed!" http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?postid=194601

PSU = Ultra ATX 600watt

Shhh...if you listen to the components...you can almost hear Steve Vai firing up in the distance...
__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.