static problem with pics and video. HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to coldcrow
Unhappy static problem with pics and video. HELP

I have a big problem with static. Seems like everytime i walk to my room to go to my pc and touch the cover of my pc case it restarts and sometimes shuts down. I know that this is not at all any good. I have tried so many different things. I tried grounding the case to the round grounded part of the psu with a wire and this worked but people told me this was unsafe so i unhooked that. I then tried different plugs and cords. I also REBUILT the whole pc and still was having this problem. I tried to send the case back and they said its been to long to send me a RMA. I'm out of ideas i have no idea what i should do. I'm affraid this is going to fry my hardware. I think something already happened to my soundcard. Does anyone have any ideas? PLZ NEED MUCH HELP




case
http://www.xoxide.com/v-tech-x-focus-7105h-black.html

video
http://www.filebunker.net/a/displayimage.php?pos=-4782
note you may need to use IE to view video. FIREFOX might not work
__________________

coldcrow is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That's REALLY screwed up.

Say, do you know the condition of your electrical wires, grounding your case doesnt matter if your house doesnt have a proper ground, temporarily run a wire to a metal pipe and see if it keeps happening.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Did anyone tell you why it was unsafe to ground the case to the PSU. This is how cases usually are grounded. The metal case is normally touching the metal of the PSU, and this in turn is grounded through the mains. If the case isn't touching the PSU properly then simple attaching a wire will work, and shouldn't be unsafe.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to coldcrow
Default

well someone was saying that the static with the wire was just building up, like charging the pc, or storing the electricity. The only way i got it working was attacting a wire to the grounded part of the wire of the psu. I wrapped the wire arond it and then taped it to the front of the pc where i touched it in the video. This worked but people were saying its charging the pc up and could be bad. I also tried taping the wire on the psu and taping it to the front but that didn't work. Maybe its my PSU? Do you need a specialy PSU when you have a metal case?

o and sry i didn't give you my system specs before here they are:
ASUS K8V SE DELUXE
CORSAIR 1GB ram
THERMALTAKE Silent Purepower W0014RU 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 800MHz
CELESTICA ATI 9600XT
SEAGATE 80GB
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB
WINDOWS XP SP2
coldcrow is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Say, I have that same PSU. I always wondered whether the black paint (which looks really good, if you have the balck one) interfered with the grounding of said case. Might this be the case?
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to coldcrow
Default

here is another fourm that people told me what to try if you want to check out and see what they said this could help you help me.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread....2&page=5&pp=20
coldcrow is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

It could indeed be the paint if it is acting as an insulator. It may be wise to scratch some off, and attach the metal of the case to that point via a wire.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to coldcrow
Default

that is smart thanks i'll try that now
coldcrow is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to coldcrow
Default

no that didn't work, i can tell that that paint is not that thick to even do anything its not even like paint.
__________________

coldcrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.