startup troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 02:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ky9
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default startup troubles

i got my new computer running, installed xp, and mobo and video card drivers. it worked fine. then i shut it off to change some fans. then, when i plugged everything back in, it starts up fine, but then when it gets to the xp startup screen (little bars moving left-right continuously), it goes for a while, then basically the monitor does the "Off mode in 5 sec." deal and although the computer still runs, operation stops.


what happened? what can i do?

note : i was using some air spray on some of the fans to clean them above my case. not smart, but i fear that i may have tipped the can a little to far, and water maaaaaaaaaay have dripped. not positive.
__________________

Ky9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

That may be a possiblity....check for signs.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ky9
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default

no idea what to look for.
Ky9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

before XP starts to load, press f8 then go into safe mode
from there, reinstall the video card drivers, and see what the resolution is at
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ky9
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
before XP starts to load, press f8 then go into safe mode
from there, reinstall the video card drivers, and see what the resolution is at
when i try and enter safe mode, i just get a blank screen (not idle monitor though)
Ky9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ky9
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default

it eventually goes idle though.
Ky9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

have you got another video card you can use?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.