startup question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default startup question

ok, I got my system up and I can go into the BIOS, But when I exit, the screen goes black for a few seconds and then it says:

"Reboot and select proper Boot device or insert Boot media in selected Boot device and press a key"

Now is this where I put the OS cd in and "press a key"? What do I do from here? Thnx
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

It might mean it can't detect your hard disk. Check the boot order in BIOS than see if you have connected each hard disk and cd-rom drives with an IDE cable and a molex (white translucent) power connector. If they are connected with both already than set each device's jumper to cable select.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah what they all said. Check your boot sequence in the BIOS. If you already have an OS installed it needs to have IDE-0 as the first boot device, if you don't then have your CD-ROM as the first boot device and start installing
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.