Start up problems - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 05:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Edit: Also I forgot to mention, when I was looking around today I noticed there was a plug in my graphics card that the power supply would send one of those white connectors into, I haven't had it in for the time that I've had my card.
By all means, connect a power plug up to that. I'm surprized it ever worked without it. I recall some cards would work in 2D mode without the supplemental power, but not 3D mode. Maybe yours is one of those.
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

My first thought until I read about you not having the power plug connected (which XFX says is required) was "cooling problem." Do you have the updated cooling fan from XFX as shown here on their web site?
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Raygtc
Default

I did try starting it up with the card connected once, didn't make a difference. (Although I don't think you're saying it would)
Raygtc is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Raygtc
Default

yeah, the fan on my card does look like that.
Raygtc is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

I'd say get a motherboard to swap your components out to. see if its the video card, cpu or mb
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Raygtc
Default

Is there any risk to new components if I'm swapping specific things?
Raygtc is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Possible yes, something would have to be majorly damaged though. Like a shorted connection that ends up feeding 12v directly into the mtoherboard. But, your stuff worked and then died. A defect normally would fry everything right away.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:46 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Well what do you know?!!

Just for giggles, I disconnected the supplemental power on my 6600 GT and powered up. I figured for sure that I would get absolutely nothing. No POST and certainly no video. Instead, it booted right up to Windows. However, when I logged in, I was greeted by the message below. Have you ever seen that? (I do have the very latest Forceware 7.1.8.4 drivers. Maybe that matters.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6600 gt supplemental power unplugged.jpg (51.4 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:49 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

If you click on the Troubleshooting button, you get this message:

(Sorry about the size. Stupid 600 pixel wide limit.)

Over time, your system may have indeed become irreparably damaged.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 07:31 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Raygtc
Default

Ooooh, that really sounds painful.

And no, I never did get any notice like that (I wish I did, heh). If I had a guess, win2k pro could be the reason.

Edit: I actually did get the march 11th forceware drivers update a couple days ago
__________________

Raygtc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.