stalling at 'looking up ___" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2007, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

hello,

my browser keeps hanging at the "looking up (hostname)" stage of clicking on a link *or* typing in a URL. it's only my computer too....the rest of my network works fine. Is there anything anyone can do to help?



I am running firefox 2.0.0.2pre under SusE linux 10.1 x64


(it hangs when I use other browsers too, its not directly firefox I dont think)


ANY help is appreciated! THANKS!

edit: it hangs for like......5-10 solid seconds.....then after that it's lightning fast just the way it should be (comcast subscriber)
__________________

B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Corby, United Kingdom.
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to mattstevenson
Default Re: stalling at 'looking up ___"

It may be that you've got Firefox configured to automatically detect it's connection settings. If this is the case, then it's also possible that it's not remembering it's connection settings between sessions. So i'd say you should try inputting the correct connection information in the preferences, and see how you go.
__________________

mattstevenson is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: stalling at 'looking up ___"

Change your DNS servers. Configure them manually if they are on automatic.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default Re: stalling at 'looking up ___"

what now?
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: stalling at 'looking up ___"

Hello,

Try upgrading yoru Firefox. The latest stable version for Firefox 2 is 2.0.16. You are running a Beta version of Firefox 2. Which is very unstable and insecure. Can also upgrade to Firefox 3 as well.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.