SSD Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2009, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default SSD Question...

Looking at the intel ssd on newegg:
Newegg.com - Intel X25-M SSDSA2MH080G2R5 2.5" 80GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid state disk (SSD) - Solid State Disks

and on mwave:
INTEL SSDSA2MH080G2 X25-M 80GB SATA 3.0 Gen 2, MLC, 2.5" Solid State Drive (bulk) (regular $290 - $30 mwave instant discount = $260, Till 11/15/2009) from mwave.com

Model numbers are a little different, but I can't find an obvious difference.

INTEL SSDSA2MH080G2C1 X25M 80GB Vs. X25-M SSDSA2MH080G2R5


anyone knows?
Thanks.
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: SSD Question...

Hrmm I didn't even know SATA 3 was out, its in the product title, one says SATA 3 other says SATA 2, I don't know if thats true or not.

But even if it is you will not see a difference between the two.

Id just go with the cheaper one if you insist on a SSD.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: SSD Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Hrmm I didn't even know SATA 3 was out, its in the product title, one says SATA 3 other says SATA 2, I don't know if thats true or not.

But even if it is you will not see a difference between the two.

Id just go with the cheaper one if you insist on a SSD.
+1 to that.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: SSD Question...

Pretty sure it means SATA 3.0GB/s
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Question...

lol I googled it and the wikki said something about sata 3. I I think some of the gigabyte mobo have sata 3 and usb 3. see:
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/...091020_333.htm
actually I don't know what that suppose to be, because it looks like sata 3 isn't anhything else but two sata 2 ports. but it says sata 3. so I believe them right?

I wanted a ssd because seams like my hard drive is slowing down my computer. [caviar] If I had a SSD...it would be like zzzzzooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmm...whoooo... going through photoshop lol

ordered it. Free shipping and an additional $10 off brought this to $249. can't beat that. It's really not much different then the R5. and I doubt it'll be recalled drive. If it is I'll just send it back to intel and wait for the new drive. not in a rush.
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: SSD Question...

The SATA 3.0 that you see with the 2 SATA Ports, is RAID configuration. That require 2 drives not a single drive.

You will see a increase going to a SDD compared to using a hard drive that has platters. But you are not going to see it zoom like you are thinking. the hard drive does have a effect on performance, but you would see much more of a increase from a top of the line CPU and a good amount of RAM.

If you get a SSD with a older CPU and only a couple of GB of RAM you are not going to see the performance increase that you are thinking. Yeah it will take less time to access the data, but it still has to be processed by the RAM and CPU in order to be used.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Question...

My computer isn't old, and it sure isn't bad... i7 950 and 6GB of RAM, and now a 80 GB SSD. it's just not OC'd...

I guess I was hoping for a little bit more speed increase then my previous PC which was a Quad Q6600 with 4GB of RAM, running vista 32 bit.

Yes it is faster, and yes it runs Photoshop a little better, but not what I was expecting. I was expecting a little bit of hair blowing in the wind while pushing the power button. I guess I was expecting a little too much. dunn know.
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 03:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: SSD Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MenschX View Post
My computer isn't old, and it sure isn't bad... i7 950 and 6GB of RAM, and now a 80 GB SSD. it's just not OC'd...

I guess I was hoping for a little bit more speed increase then my previous PC which was a Quad Q6600 with 4GB of RAM, running vista 32 bit.

Yes it is faster, and yes it runs Photoshop a little better, but not what I was expecting. I was expecting a little bit of hair blowing in the wind while pushing the power button. I guess I was expecting a little too much. dunn know.
ooooh, so that's what you meant in your last thread

you want load times to be faster

when I saw your last thread, I was thinking the i7 950 should be a lot faster at processing images
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: SSD Question...

see...so I am not imagining things right?

I figured now that I had a fast processor...mye WD sata drives r too slow..so I bought a SSD drive. but it's just not much better. my windows score is ok, but heck... [7.3 since the SSD]

seriously... don't know what else I could do, or what I did wrong.

There's probably some stupid setting somewhere that I don't know about and win 7 somehow screwed up.
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: SSD Question...

No your expecting to much. I dont care how much RAM your system has, what CPU you have or anything like that. you will not see any system out there that you can push the power button and be at your desktop before your finger is removed from the button.

your expectations are what is wrong. Photoshop is a VERY intensive program. No matter what system you have running it takes time to load. It takes up to a minute cause of all the junk it has to load. No system, no amount of RAM will help. even a SSD will not help.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 hard drive question.... dmeehanss New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2009 09:22 PM
OCZ Vertex Series 120GB SSD Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-27-2009 02:44 PM
Fast SSD vs. Hard Disks Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 08-01-2008 04:47 PM
scsi and ssd questions Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-14-2008 04:51 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.