spoolsv.exe taking too much computer memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default spoolsv.exe taking too much computer memory

I have this question about this file called spoolsv.exe, some people were complaining of this file taking up too much memory and slowing they're computer down. Everytime they would have to press crtl alt del, to turn it off, and in 5 mins its comes back and slows down the computer. What does this spoolsv.exe do and what can you do to prevent it from taking so much memory and slowing the computer down?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

spoolsv.exe is a Microsoft Windows system executable which handles the printing process to your local printers. Note: spoolsv.exe is also a process which is registered as the Backdoor.Ciadoor.B Trojan. This Trojan allows attackers to access your computer, stealing passwords and personal data. It is a registered security risk and should be removed immediately

It sounds like you might have a virus..
__________________

v0jnik is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

virusscan is in order
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Well thats not whats happening in my computer, spoolsv.exe is running in mine but it doesn't take up memory. Its just people told me that its slowing their computer down.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

It's in mine too...could you guys suggest a program to remove this troublesome process? (Ad-aware doesn't remove it, neither does anti-spyware beta)
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 04:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default spoolsv.exe

My problem too.Takes all the CPU processing power.Is it a virus?My guess is it's printer related.
Would firewall allow Trojan?And AVG?
jarok is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

it's the printing service, like said (although it shouldn't take all cpu cycles). in case you don't print or have a printer, turn the service off. or you could try and set it to manual if you print every now and then.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 07:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It should be using under 5 meg of memory

No spoolsv, no printing, even to remote printers
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks LoTex,reassuring, that it's not a virus.I'm not sure how to set to manual. What I do now is just click on spoolsv.exe in Task Mngr and 'end process'.But of course it comes back later
jarok is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

for all you who want to conf services, here's some help:

http://web.archive.org/web/200411280...servicecfg.htm
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.