Spontaneous Restart - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 11:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Is it possible for you to forget windows and start using linux?
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thomprice
Just tried it, but no difference.
You mean after booting from the CD and repairing windows you still are unable to log in ?

Unplug all none critical components and boot, see what happens. Because XP is Plug 'n' Play, it shouldn't cause too many problems for you.

It should also aid in finding out if its hardware or software related.
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Pull out your power supply and try a different one, I believe the problem may be weak or highly fluctuacting rails.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I dont know if this will work, it s worth a shot. Open your case and look for the small wires that connect to your mobo from the restart button. Take it off, clean it, start the PC with out it. If that doesn't work, I DONT KNOW WHAT WILL!!! lol
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Catbert
You mean after booting from the CD and repairing windows you still are unable to log in ?

Unplug all none critical components and boot, see what happens. Because XP is Plug 'n' Play, it shouldn't cause too many problems for you.

It should also aid in finding out if its hardware or software related.
yes, that is what I mean. I have taken out all non critical compontnts. I have tried all versions of windows except 3.0 and 2000. 95 works, but the components of the computer aren't compatible.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Pull out your power supply and try a different one, I believe the problem may be weak or highly fluctuacting rails.
As I mentioned, I have already changed the power supply for a new (and more powerful) one. The voltage is very stable.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tuskatappaja
Is it possible for you to forget windows and start using linux?
everything is possible, but the idea is to have a computer compatible with the other computers on my network, on which I don't have to spend money for new programs, etc. I don't think that it is a software problem, because I've tried 3 versions of windows that don't work.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
I dont know if this will work, it s worth a shot. Open your case and look for the small wires that connect to your mobo from the restart button. Take it off, clean it, start the PC with out it. If that doesn't work, I DONT KNOW WHAT WILL!!! lol
I took off the power switch and the reset switch, but no difference.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Did you try underclocking it in bios like i said? Lower the FSB to 150
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:01 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Did you try underclocking it in bios like i said? Lower the FSB to 150
You are absoletely right! Taking the speed down to 566Mhz from 850 makes it work perfectly with ME. I could even get it to run at 650. I put a larger fan on and reapplied the thermal paste between the PCU and the heat sink. But that made no difference. It still wouldn't run at its designated speed of 850.

I got everything loaded and the last thing that I had to load was the PC TV, which is the whole purpose of this computer: so that I can have internet and a tv in my tiny room. Then I find out that the PC TV is not compatible with ME.

So I formated again and loaded XP. I was able to get it installed running the processor at 566, which is the lowest speed I can make it go, but it wasn't exactly stable. Now that I have updated with SP2 and put the antivirus software on, I can't even get past searching for a boot record and it overheats.

Is this CPU ready for the trash?
__________________

thomprice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.