Spontaneous Restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Question Spontaneous Restart

About 6 months ago, I started having problems with one of my computers, a PIII 850 mounted on an MSI 6309 motherboard. Without any warning, the computer would instantly restart.

My first thought was that it was overheating, but the thermal control in the BIOS was disabled. So I figured it must be a software problem, and I formated and reinstalled Win ME. The problem kept becoming more frequent, until finally, it would happen as soon as all of the desktop items showed up after startup, and if I didn't do a forced shutdown, it would just sit there and restart over and over. Even in Safe mode, it would do the same thing.

I updated and relaoded the BIOS, but that didn't make any difference. It would work fine in DOS, but not in the windows environment. So I tried loading Win 95, and that solved the problem, but many of my periferials weren't compatable. Next I tried Win 98, but it had the same problem as ME. Naturally, XP did the same.

I determined that it must be a problem with hardware, and my first guess was the memory. It had 2 banks of 64, which I took out, and tired one at a time, but that had no effect at all. So I figured it must be the MoBo. I found the same MoBo on ebay and replaced mine with this one which was said to be perfectly functional. The problem persisted.

Next it occured to me that it could be the power supply, so I purchased a new power supply, and that still didn't have any effect. Changing the hard disk also had no effect. So I was back to the memory, and I purchased another memory bank and put it in, but still the same problem.

The only 2 pieces of this computer that I haven't changed are the video card and the CPU. I'm starting to get frustrated. :grind: Any ideas?:grind:
__________________

thomprice is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 03:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Try disabling your video card by :

RIGHT CLICK "MY COMPUTER" > MANAGE > DEVICE MANAGER > DISPLAY ADAPTORS > RIGHT CLICK VIDEO CARD > DISABLE

Restart your PC and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 04:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

but I can't even get past all of the icon's loading on the desktop. The restart always happens exactly at the same moment every time: just after the icons load. Is there anyway I can try that in dos?
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Are you able to get into "SAFE MODE" ?

As for doing it from DOS I am not sure but I found this ...

http://www.phystechsoft.com/ptshelp/131.html
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

even in safe mode it restarts immediately after the icons appear on the desktop.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Update:
I've tried taking the CPU out and starting the computer and nothing happens at all. That tells me that the CPU is functioning, at least partially. The fan is working fine, and the heatsink only gets slightly warm. What am I overlooking?
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

I got a very wild idea.
Do you have a floppy drive in your computer?
It maybe broken!

Remove it and try again.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Tried booting from your windows CD ?
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tuskatappaja
I got a very wild idea.
Do you have a floppy drive in your computer?
It maybe broken!

Remove it and try again.
I've taken the floppy drive out, but that makes no difference.
thomprice is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Catbert
Tried booting from your windows CD ?
Just tried it, but no difference.
__________________

thomprice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.