Split/Combine 12v Rail - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default Split/Combine 12v Rail



http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/sho...1&postcount=10

This is an interesting concept, the ability to choose between using two seperate 12v rails, or combining them to increase overall current and stability.

The modstream is my favourite PSU lineup but lacks power to be a good option, this thing looks appealing and I think I'll have to sell my powerstream and get this unit.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

is it me or does that PSU look freakin huge in that picture with the mobo?

Seems like for the most part it'd always be best to have it combined if it's a total of 38a, then you could run a ton of crap without ever having to worry about taxing that.....it'd be an interesting concept if you could actually adjust the amperage per +12v line that you wanted, but yeah I'm sure that'd be difficult
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

That's what I thought when I first saw it but I looked at it again and it looked a little more to scale.

The powerstreams have adjustable rails which allow you to increase the voltage you feed 'em, although it's not recommended to overvolt unless you know what you are doing and frankly I do not. :P Adjusting amps seems a bit weird since you'd most likely always want the max possible and I couldn't see much of a reason for decreasing them. =/

Anyhow, I just more excited to see this PSU as it is sexay and now powerful enough for what I want.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Adjust the amps so that instead of having two 12v with 19a each, you could use 10a on one where you're powering smaller devices such as fans, and then the other having 28a for the rest of the system that would need it is mainly what I meant.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.