speakers....what happened.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2004, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default speakers....what happened....

i got a new pc recently, and whenever i hooked it up to my old speakers, i noticed the volume was really low. i can turn it all the way up, and it just sounds like its barely playing. on my old comp these speakers worked fine, any ideas anybody?
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

i tried that, it didn't seem to make any difference, everything is turned all the way up. i tried messing with something called "Multi-Channel Sound Manager", but it doesn't seem to do much.
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

are they digital speakers ?
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

yeah, i'm pretty sure they are. i even hooked this comp up to a different setup, and it was low on those speakers too.
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

double check all connections in the back of the subwoofer if you have one...might be in the wrong slot??? just a guess
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

everything is plugged in right.....this is driving me insane
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 03:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

i just reinstalled my nvidia sound hardware, still happening....wtf...
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 05:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 45
Default

TeLeMuNdO!
Do your motherboard has a sound output? If it does change the sound settings to use the motherboard instead of the sound card then connect the speakers to the motherboard output and test the sound. if it sounds better then there may be something wrong with the sound card. It can be a bad connection between the speakers connector and the sound card port, may be the sound card is not connected well to the motherboard.
__________________
\"Want to make your computer go really fast? Throw it out a window.\"
XRAYZ is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 04:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

my mobo does have a sound output, i rolled back the driver to the previous device before my sound card, but it still sounds the same. is that what you were talking about? i don't really know if i do in face have a sound car, new comp, but the primary sound device is titled as "NVIDIA nForce Audio Codec Interface". when i opened up my PC, i saw a little chip on my mobo with the same name, i checked to see if it wasn't plugged in or something, and when i touched it, it was extremely hot. does that mean anything?
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 45
Default

extreamly hot! can be part of the problem. you may want to add an extra fan or a system blower to help release some of the heat out of your computer case. remember all this devices operate using different voltages and if one of the devices overheat it can create problems when the device try to interpret data.
Hopefully you haven't fried your sound card jet.
__________________

__________________
\"Want to make your computer go really fast? Throw it out a window.\"
XRAYZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.