Speakers Or Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Speakers Or Ram

i've got $100 burning a hole in my pocket, what should i do with it. my specs:

A64 3200+ S754
768MB DDR2100
Win2000
SB live! mp3+
60GB WD 7200RPM HD
Gigabyte GA-K8NS nfORCE 3 250

i'm thinking of either upgrading to as much DDR3200 as $100 will get me OR a set of 5.1 speakers.

what should i do and what should i get?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

ddr3200 of course

you made a good motherboard choice =)
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

yeah, its super stable and runs perfect OUT OF THE BOX!!!!
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Well, i love 5.1 speakers (especially the Logitech Z-5500) but $100 is pretty thin to spend on 5.1's. You can get a sweet set of Klipsch Promedia 2.1's for $150. You really cant get 5.1's for $100 - at least not from a decent brand. The best ones are Logitech, Klipsch, and Creative. Id keep saving if I were you for the speakers.

If your into gaming though, get the RAM and upgrade to 1 gb.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Don't upgrade to 1gb, just replace what you have. If you stick in 2 different kinds of memory, both sticks will run at ddr2100, not at 3200. You wont see any improvement. dhw200 is correct in the fact that you should have 2 sticks of memory. It enables dual channel and increase your memory throughput by 2x. Get 2x 256 ddr3200, when you have more cash get another set of 2x 256
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

i can't get another set of 2x 256 because my mobo has 3 dimm slots. how much would 2x 256 pc3200 ram cost though, and is that good enough for gaming?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

don't worry about the sig, its wrong. i don't know how to change it
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Oh, you dont have Dual channel on your motherboard anyway. So getting 2 x 256 isn't going to help you. I was thinking of the k8ns-ultra or pro, they both have dual channel. But i still wouldnt put 2100 in with 3200. So get 1 x 512.

To change sig go to profile (at bottom of page) then to options.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

sweet, thanks
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

And then keep saving for those Logitech Z-5500s
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.