Speaker 'popping' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2006, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default Speaker 'popping'

Hey all, I recently bought a new set of 2.1 speakers (Creative i-Trigue 3400) and have been having a few problems with 'em. First of all the sound is excellent, far better than my previous speakers, as is the base from the rather massive sub.

My problem however stems from the fact that every now and again they make a 'popping/crackling' sound which lasts in the miliseconds, but is noticable none-the-less. This happens when gaming, or when playing music, never when my speakers are 'dormant'. It seems that this sound always comes from the left hand speaker, never the right. So I assumed the left speaker must be a bit 'dodgy', so I swapped the two speakers, the left going to the right, and the right going to the left, and then re-wired them into the sub appropriately. The popping sound still happens, and STILL from the left hand side speaker.

I'm just wondering what the **** could be causing this. My sub is about metre from my LCD monitor, and the speakers are magnetically shielded, so surely it couldn't be because of the monitor. My wireless router is next to the right hand speaker, as their is no where else to put it, but as I mentioned, thats not from where the sound problem originates.

I've done loads of trial and error with my soundcard, and nothing so far has worked.

Can anyone suggest what could be the cause of problem, or whether it could just be faulty speakers I need to send back?

(the sound does not occur on my head-phones, or on my old speakers)

AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107

It sounds like you have done all of the logical things to try to solve this, since they are new and still under warranty I would suggest calling Creative and ask one of their techs for some help. This way you have started a dialogue in case you want/need to RMA it.

dcc is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Sounds like a connection is loose.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.