space saving idea - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2005, 02:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default space saving idea

I am going to be living in a dorm room next year and wonder what i need to do to run my computer threw a tv my graphics card has a tv out but what kind of cable do i need to get

Alfred11 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86

It is probably an S-Video out

man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8

My graphics card is a 128 DDR ATI Radeon 9700 TX w/TV-Out so what do i need to run it threw a TV
Alfred11 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


You need an S-VIDEO cable most likely, if not then a composite cable. Your Radeon 9700 graphics card should have a composite or s-video interface...

S-VIDEO cable.

An S-VIDEO cable has identical male ends. One end plugs into your graphics card, and the other goes to either your television or VCR. If your TV or VCR does not have an S-VIDEO in socket, you'll need to get a Scart to S-VIDEO converter...

Scart Adapter- RCA (L/R Audio Phono, S-VIDEO and Composite Video Phono Inputs) (Most scart adaptors nowadays have a variable input/output switch).

The scart adaptor plugs into any available scart socket on either your TV or VCR. If you choose to use S-VIDEO, the other male end of the cable would plug into the S-VIDEO socket on the scart adaptor.

If you prefer to or can only use Composite...

Composite Video Cable

The Composite cable has two identical male ends. One plugs into the Composite socket on the graphics card, and the other end either goes to an available composite in port on your TV or VCR, or if not, then to the scart adaptor's Composite connector.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81

Originally posted by Alfred11
My graphics card is a 128 DDR ATI Radeon 9700 TX w/TV-Out so what do i need to run it threw a TV

= A TV with AV interface or S-Video or Direct Composite input (most new TVs)
= S-Video or Composite or S-Video/Composite cable
= Graphic card with Composite or S-Video or S-Video/Composite output

If you are about to use AV interface a small AV/Scart input adapter would be required. Note that you must buy INPUT adapter since pin-out of input and output is not the same. You can also buy a versatile adapter with the input/output switch. In addition, if you have a VCR that connects to TV through AV interface (maybe using the only available AV interface on your TC) and has a direct composite Input (usually on front mask) you can connect your cable to it or to AV Input interface at the back of VCR (if it has one, most do + it would then still require of you to buy an AV adapter). Using AV/Composite is highly recommended over the the RF cable. However, if you are using somewhat older TV that doesn't have the AV input/output interface you can get by with the RF as well (sacrificing picture quality/clarity).

= Perform Hardware related jobs and connect all the cables
= Turn on your TV (and/or VCR) and switch to AV


= Download most recent Graphic Card drivers from your manufacturer's web site ( in this case)
= Access display properties through your desktop (Right Click > Properties) or though your Computer's Control Panel
= Go to Settings Tab and click Advanced button on the bottom
= make the settings required (*)

* - this is as far as we can go since we are using nVidia Graphic Card
The Borg is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81

Addition (Reread the post):

Do not expect a Monitor quality picture on your TV. That is impossible. Also, max. resolution you can get
with your TV is either 800*600 or 1024*768.

The Borg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.