Space - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 19
Default Space

Why We get 18gb on a 20gb hdd?
__________________

himalya is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

because its nicer to market a hard drive as 20 gig and not 18 gig lol and they get away with it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

metric prefixes:
kilo=1,000
mega=1,000,000
giga=1,000,000,000

binary (which computers use) does not use these figures. a long time ago someone figured it would be easiest if they used the metric prefixes for the numbers that come close e.g. 1024 (2^10) bytes is one kilobyte.

manufacturers advertise one gigabyte as being 1,000,000,000 bytes. it is not. a gigabyte is 1024x1024x1024 bytes or 1,073,741,824 bytes. divide 20,000,000,000 by that number and i guarantee it will give you ~18gb
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

windows take up about 2 Gb to install.. that might be where it is.. also, 20Gb isint really 20Gb.. Usually the actaul storage space is less, just because of the math and how it works out. look for the little print. My USB hey is 490 not 512, the math works out fine tho..

it sucks
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

yeah but the point is that they still sell it as a 20 gig or whatever and its a rip off which always ****es me off. like my 250 gig reads like 235 which really annoys me. should just say its a 235 gig drive or whatever.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

example:

my 40 GB hard drive is 37.2GB total.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 19
Default Thanks...

Thanks for the info..
Will have to read nitestick post carefully and then try to understand his point!
himalya is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
My USB hey is 490 not 512, the math works out fine tho..
that is taken up by software and filetables.

himalya, basically what it is is that computers "see" 1000 as 1024. so 1kb is not 1000 bytes but 1024 bytes. one megabyte is 1024 kilobytes and so on. from that you can determine what the drive really is.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.