Soyo KT600 Dragon Plus Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2004, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Default Soyo KT600 Dragon Plus Problems

I bought a Soyo KT600 Dragon Plus with Phoenix D686 BIOS to replace a suspected blown motherboard.

I have an AMD Duron 900Mhz processor. The dipswitches for the multiplier are all off, which may or may not be relevant because I haven't done anything to the processor, so I assume that it is not unlocked. (I'm a software guy, not a hardware guy). Can someone tell me for sure?

I have two memory sticks: Kingston ValueRAM 256 and Centon 512 MB

The FSB jumpers are set for 200 MHz - Is that right?

I removed all devices from the board: hard drive, CD ROM, floppy, RAM. I left the video card ( new Mad Dog Predator MX 4000)installed and put the board on a piece of cardboard with

There are 2 big problems (so far):

1. As soon as I plugthe power cord into the power supply, the Anti-Burn Regulator Alarm goes off. I have removed the jumper to disable it but it didn't make a difference still goes off.

2. When I power up, the ABR alarm stops, the fans all come on but there is no post. There are no beeps from the speaker and nothing is displayed on the monitor.

I have cleared the CMOS a number of times without success.

I'm assuming that my processor is fried. Maybe I zapped it during the installation process or it got fried when the other motherboard fried.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
__________________

kmerkle is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

going by my own experiences it sounds like your cpu is dead.

Did you put enough heat sink paste on the face of the cpu?

if it was too little your chip will have burnt out. Amd cpus run hot need good cooling.
__________________

Compaq is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

your fsb is set wrong. it needs to be set at 100 for ddr( 100X2=200mhz fsb). try that and see what happens.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 08:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks.

I had paste on the chip. It didn't even have time to heat up, unless it can fry in a matter of seconds during start up.

I had tried setting the FSB at 100 and it didn't help. I'm assuming that the CPU got fried when the old motherboard died, so I ordered a 1.4 GHz Duron. I hope that does the trick, else I'm throwing good money after bad...
kmerkle is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

yes older amd can fry in the seconds it takes to start up without a heatsink. So it is very possible it is fried. good luck with new processor.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.