SoundBlaster - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2004, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Nutz900 Send a message via Yahoo to Nutz900
Default SoundBlaster

Hello everyone,

Hope someone can help. I have a dual boot machine set up to run linux on one drive and XP Pro on the other. It is a PIII 650 (slot one).

The problem is with the sound card. I am trying to use a soundblaster model SB0090. It has five gold plated inputs and outputs plus one 1394 port. I think it is an Audigy2. I don't have the original install disk and none of the drivers I've downloaded from creative labs worked more than a time or two.

What happens is it works fine until I reboot or stop the machine for any reason. It seems to lose the driver. If I uninstall and remove, then reinstall the card, windows sees it and loads it's drivers, and works only until the driver installation program calls for the reboot. At that point when I try to reload the driver downloaded from the creative labs site, it says there is no soundblaster device detected and aborts.

It works fine all the time under linux, using just the drivers that came with my linux package, (Mandrake 9.0).

I would like to obtain a new install disk, but I cannot find it on their site; they seem to only have UPDATES, not hte original cd.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

Nutz900 is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Talking Whow

How could you lose your installation cd ?
The website is indeed just an update.Maybe you can order a new cd as thats the answer,or i can send you a copy.


__________________

bluto is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Nutz900 Send a message via Yahoo to Nutz900
Default

I never had the original. I got the board on a non working pc. If you can send a copy that would probably do it for me...Let me know how you want to do this...

Thanks in advance.
Nutz900 is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

http://files.asia.creative.com/files...ACK_L5_UPT.EXE

this is a pack with Audigy drivers. maybe this will work...
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default ops

Quote:
Originally posted by subdivizion
only an update? i don't think so.

i have Creative SB Audigy Platinum and the drivers on the Installation CD are for up to Windows 2000. since i'm now using XP i went and downloaded the XP drivers from the Creative website and the soundcard is working perfectly fine. check this link out: http://us.creative.com/support/downloads/
He doesn't have a cd,we do.The website is only an update of the cd he doesn't have.Arent we lucky ?
bluto is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

but i didn't even use the CD. i installed the drivers right from the downloaded executable. without installing the prevous driver and updating it.
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default You may be right

I meant to check that out today.Why not locate the dl and post the direct link here ?

bluto is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 12:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

i did.... look up 3 posts...
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 12:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default Really

Quote:
Originally posted by subdivizion
i did.... look up 3 posts...
Are you playing games ? Post the link now and don't make it so difficult.
Everyone doesn't have your brain size.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 02:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Bluto, Actually he did post a link. Look at the 4th post down. I think the "brain size" comment was uncalled for. It just makes you look bad.

Nutz900, did you try installing the drivers that came with XP?

-Target
__________________

Target is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.