Sound problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 78
Default Sound problem

Today I did windows update for my computer and it had a new hardware for the nvida sound device on my mobo. I downloaded it and then my comp turned off, not sure why and now all I get is a beep. And whenever I try to play music it says there is a problem with my sound device. Does anyone know what to do? thanks
My motherboard is an asus a7n8x deluxe

stang2009 is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 78

Anyone, sorry for the dumb question.

I tried playing call of duty and this is what came up.

------- Miles sound system initialization -------
Attempting 44 kHz 16 bit stereo sound
couldn't initialize 2D provider: waveOutOpen() failed.
Miles sound system initialization failed
WARNING: loaded sound file 'sound/misc/mouse_click.wav' couldn't be read
WARNING: loaded sound file 'sound/misc/mouse_over.wav' couldn't be read
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
...wglMakeCurrent( NULL, NULL ): success
...deleting GL context: success
...releasing DC: success
...destroying window
...resetting display
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
2 sound file(s) are missing or in a bad format

Can anyone make sense of the this? Thanks

stang2009 is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3

Whats happening is the PC's tracking system is not pointing the sounds gigabytes in the right direction. What you need to do is either purchase a new tracking system, or try giving it a clean with a moist cloth.
MikeStanding is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 78

All I did was download a new driver, before hand it worked. Why would it make me have to wipe anything down? also where is this part I have to wipe? Thanks
stang2009 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.