Sound card problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2004, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Sound card problems

ok, i got a ks75a motherboard with an onboard sound card. the driver for the sound card is a SiS 7012.
i had to reformat and reinstall windows, i have done this more than once and always had the same problem. driver wouldn't work, so i did what other websites said about profiles in registry. it always worked, well, this time, windows thinks it's a different card, a c-media ac97 card. and tries to install that driver instead of lewtting me choose correct driver, how do i fix this? (i have no sound at all right now)
__________________

camman977 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Do you have the drivers for your motherboard? Install the drivers from your motherboard, remove the C-media AC97 card from Device Manager and reboot. I did this once before in a simila situation and it works fine. Might just have to install the original mobo drivers and reboot.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 07:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

i have tried that a few times and the comp reboots and reinstalls the c media driver
camman977 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

A friend of mine said the same thing happened to him and he had to disable(in safe mode), what in your case would be the C-media AC97 driver, and then manually select his correct driver. He said he still had the disabled driver in Device Manager which kept it from reinstalling, but his correct driver worked. Sounds like a pain in the butt. Too bad you don't have any old sound cards laying around I'd say just disable the old card on the mobo and use a different one!
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

thyanks, i will try that.
camman977 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

that didn't work but i tried a different thing close to that and it worked, thanks
__________________

camman977 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.