something is wrong with new pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2005, 01:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

i dunno about teh mobo being dead, i just think i am an idiot and did something wrong. where would i plug teh speakers into on the mobo? if the speakers worked maybe i could get a bios beep that would tell me something i did wrong.

and i cant login. i havent installed windows. the cd drive wont open.

here are all sorts of pics of teh mobo, can you give me some tips on what i may have done, something i may not have plugged in or something?
motherboard
__________________

Armethion is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Have you tried taking out all nonessential hardware. Take everything out, only leave in the video card, cpu, and memory. Boot it up, tell us what happens including any beeps you hear.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

one problem, i dont know how do get the audio working... any help with that?
Armethion is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Armethion
i dunno about teh mobo being dead, i just think i am an idiot and did something wrong. where would i plug teh speakers into on the mobo? if the speakers worked maybe i could get a bios beep that would tell me something i did wrong.

and i cant login. i havent installed windows. the cd drive wont open.

here are all sorts of pics of teh mobo, can you give me some tips on what i may have done, something i may not have plugged in or something?
motherboard
Wait a minute, you haven't installed Windows? Have you tried clearing the CMOS BIOS?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Armethion
one problem, i dont know how do get the audio working... any help with that?
It sounds like audio is the least of your problems, and if you don't have windows installed, what exactly to you expect to hear?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

4-pin molex connector above gfx slot, 24-pin power, 4-pin ATX 12v power above CPU socket, seem to be most important. hmm...does ur gfx card nees its own 4-pin power from the PSU?

do what bassmaster said and see if it works.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

what good would clearing the cmos bios do if i cant access the bios?
the system basically dosent boot. the cpu and teh video card seem to be functioning but i get a blank screen and nothing else.
Armethion is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Armethion
what good would clearing the cmos bios do if i cant access the bios?
the system basically dosent boot. the cpu and teh video card seem to be functioning but i get a blank screen and nothing else.


If your video card is configured wrong in your BIOS, clearing it will reset it. It takes 30 seconds to clear your BIOS (in most cases), it's worth a shot. Did you take out all the other hardware like I said before?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Armethion
Default

i took out everything except cpu video card and ram. like before, the fans on everything are spinning excpet no response on the monitor, no beeps.
i havent went into bios or configured anythong at all. but i cleared cmos anyway.
Armethion is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Armethion
i took out everything except cpu video card and ram. like before, the fans on everything are spinning excpet no response on the monitor, no beeps.
i havent went into bios or configured anythong at all. but i cleared cmos anyway.

So it's narrowed down to a few things. Motherboard, memory, CPU or graphics card. Have you verified that any of those components work by putting them in another system?

Boot it up, let it run for a few minutes, even if it doesn't do anything.

Put your hand on the heatsink of the cpu, is it getting warm? Or is it cold? If it has no heat at all, it's may be your processor is shot.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.