Some sort of Bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2005, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default Some sort of Bottleneck?

Hi all,

My laptop is an Alienware Area 51-m, warranty expired, and they didn't know what to do anyway. The problem is that I have been getting errors, bluescreens and lag with both of my 512MB sticks of RAM installed. But, when I remove one stick everything runs smoothly, it makes no sense to me at all. I have been using the Battlefield 1942 demo as a testing program since the differences are more noticable while running that game and any ill-effects seem to show up quickly. All my drivers are up to date and I just flashed my BIOS to a newer version, which didn't do much.

Here is what I found from my tests:

- Both RAM sticks, used seperately, have no problems and work fine.
- Both motherboard slots function correctly (I only have two).
- No errors, lag or bluescreens when using one stick of RAM, except for the normal lag.
- When using two sticks at once there is a problem with errors in games such as World of Warcraft and very choppy lag in the Battlefield 1942 demo, though the lag shows up gradually and get bad fast. The lag goes away for the most part if I turn off the sound, but after awhile it has a possibility of bluescreening me. Bluescreens are the last thing to happen with 1GB of RAM installed.

I don't know what else to do to narrow this down and I don't know where to go from here to fix this. What needs tweaking, what might need drivers or firmware upgrades, etc.

Please post any ideas you may have.

Thanks

Related Specs:
Alienware Area-51m Laptop
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600
1GB PC-2700 RAM
Intel Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz
Hitachi 7200RPM 60GB HDD (30GB Free)
__________________

Praey is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Uve tried formating, and reinstalling windows?
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Yes I have, 3 times total. I virus scan, defrag and have a firewall running so these arent problems caused by anything related to them and the problem comes back the same every time.
Praey is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Sounds like a defect
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 02:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

A RAM defect or motherboard defect? (Or how would I find out which?)
Praey is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try disabling dual channel and see if it stops
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 11:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Alright. I'll post my findings a.s.a.p.

Edit - This will take some time, I don't see an option in BIOS.
Praey is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Im not able to disable dual channel as far as I know, there isn't any option for it and I can't find a workaround.

However, I did just run an extensive test with Windows memory diagnostics tool and no errors were found.
Praey is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Motherboard defect
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Do you know the timings on the memory?

If so post them, and also anything else you can find in the option, IE anything along the lines of 1T, 2T.....
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.