Some General PC Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shafra

In Runtime
Hello All, I just have some general PC questions, if anyone could answer some or all of them I would be greatly appreciative.

1. Is it better to leave a PC on constantly or turn it off? Let's assume I have perfect cooling so that won't be an issue :)

2. Also, I'm new to LCD panels. How can I preserve the life of the panels, should I use power saving features on them, screen savers, or just turn them off when not in use?

3. How good is Windows Restore feature in XP Pro? I have some motherboard drivers I want to install but really afraid to put them on. If I set a restore point will it really be able to bail me out?

4. With RAM, if you have 4 slots for ram, do you have to fill up each bank 1 at a time, or could you put a ram stick in bank 1 and bank 3 and still be ok?

All silly noobie questions, but any help would be great.

answears i know to questions :
1- if u leave ur computer on all the time then theres a chance that ur memory will get full and u have to restart to free some rams up .. so i think that u should shut down the computer at late night when u go to sleep !

3-restore point is good in win xp pro .. but if u want the drivers use a program called " driver magician" it better than the restore points !

4-u could fill it the way u want ,, if u put them in slots 1 and 3 i think that u will be over clocking ( as the over clockers about this )

JinkX said:
answears i know to questions :
1- if u leave ur computer on all the time then theres a chance that ur memory will get full and u have to restart to free some rams up .. so i think that u should shut down the computer at late night when u go to sleep !

3-restore point is good in win xp pro .. but if u want the drivers use a program called " driver magician" it better than the restore points !