Is this Solid RAM for the price?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 10:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
That OCZ ram is quite a bit better than the ram shawn posted :P
Maybe so, but you wont notice a difference. I would rather save the $70 but to each his own
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 04:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

actually.. i might be able to notice a difference, specially in the OCing.. cuz maybe those wont be able to stand that much OCing, then i would just blow my money... hmm
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Maybe so, but you wont notice a difference. I would rather save the $70 but to each his own
I think those Patriots might overclock jsut as well/better than the OCZ's, but the Kingston and Geil you posted probably not. Overclocking is the only difference you will notice, stock they should all do ~ the same.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

well see.. thats what im mainly sayin, cuz im gonna OC the RAM im gettin.. so thats the thing im gonna need to rely on.. i cant get RAM that isnt gonna be able to stand the OCing, ya know..
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I don't see the point of spending so much on ram... if you have enough of it [1GB]... you really don't need to oc it... and even if you do oc it... you don't see a significant amount of gain anyways. Or am I wrong on this?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 09:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wongb18c
I don't see the point of spending so much on ram... if you have enough of it [1GB]... you really don't need to oc it... and even if you do oc it... you don't see a significant amount of gain anyways. Or am I wrong on this?
well thats like saying since you have a HUGE Hummer, it will be better and faster than a smaller Honda Miata or something.

You will see a HUGE gain in bandwidth if you get a decent overclock and tighten up your timings...having a fast 512MB can be better than a stock 1GB-2GB when gaming or w/e.

You really only see advantages of having LOTS of RAM in high traffic environments like image editing or something that can benefit with more SPACE, and not necessarily speed.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 09:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I see thanks for the Honda analogy.... with that I'm 100% clear. Type R pOwer jO.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 09:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wongb18c
I see thanks for the Honda analogy.... with that I'm 100% clear. Type R pOwer jO.
lol just something that came to mind. im not the best in analogies/comparisons...but if it makes sense then yay.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.