Socket A Questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 06:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Well, I'm not concerned at the least bit with upgradability. I have this Pentium 4 rig with PCI Express and I'm sure it'll keep my Dad going for a while. By the time I'll get rid of this Socket A rig is when it really starts to show its age or when the new P4 6xx come out and I want one or when Socket 939 PCIe boards are actually seen on the market...right now ZZF was suppose to get the K8N Neo4 yesterday, the delivery date is now pushed to 1/19 and the prices for PCIe boards keep getting hiked...all I can think of as being cost effective is Socket A + OC...
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

get the x800 xl. the 6600 gt is a waste of money compared to this card.

check it man.
__________________

ChipX is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

well problem is i'm not getting PCIe for Socket 939, i'm just souping up my Socket A rig to keep up with a 6600GT gfx...that is all...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

sorry about that man. i must of misread. i thought u were looking for a pci-e based card. the 6600 gt (agp) sounds good.
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Nah...no problem...ChipX...it's all cool...if you can find me a PCIe board for Socket 754/939...I might reconsider!
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nah he was saying how there's no need for him to go PCI-E with this rig.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

ya... i just realized that!
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I don't think PCIe is needed right now...unless you have the GeForce 6200 with TurboCache or the X800XL...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

or the x850 xt pe!
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:40 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

oopsie
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.