Socket 939 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 08:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Socket 939

i had a socket A until 2 weeks ago. it was teh leet sauce.
The only thing that differs between a 939 and a AM2 build is compatability. If you wanna be able to upgrade to something kick *** in the future for what ever reason, with a 939 that won't be possible. And also with the prices of the AM2 x2's dropping so fast, it might behoove you to pick one of them up for next to nothing.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Socket 939

Just go lga775 or am2, there really is no major cost difference these days. You can build a lga 775 with a core 2 duo dual core and 2 gigs of ram for $650....
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Socket 939

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae View Post
Can I ask what games you play?
i play call of duty 2 which is one of the best games out and requires gd computer specs, medal of honor, command and conquer,civilaztion borin thou, football manager, i have had the new sims on but more into action games as you can tell of my choices lol

it dpends on how much you wanna spend, 939 sockets will be cheaper than AM2, im thinking of building an AM2 but i just brought a sony vaio so i only use my socket 939 for gaming
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Socket 939

if you do get a skt 939 get an opteron 165 or higher, they'ere ,uch better than the skt 939 athlon X2s
Nick is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Socket 939

i got an amd athlon 3700, they run really fast.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 07:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Socket 939

athlon 3800
Nick is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 07:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Socket 939

they never had that in stock and its was called san diego 3800 when i was lookin to buy itso i never knew what tht ment lol i think i got that in my dads system cnt remember
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Re: Socket 939

the 939 build i made on newegg was just under $400(excluding speakers,os,keyboard/mouse which I already have) while the am2 build was a tad bit over $500.
__________________

Jae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help finding my prossesor socket..... optimuscrime791 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-13-2007 01:01 AM
Wall socket computer H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 2 06-24-2007 06:04 AM
socket 939 and AM2 Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-28-2007 11:08 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
FS: Socket A Mobo, CPU, RAM combo FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 03-27-2007 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.