Socket 939 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Socket 939

I was just wondering if a 939 socket rig was worth building these days, or if it is too behind the current hardware. Just as a main purpose PC(web surfing, mild gaming, picture/video editing, music) is the 939 able to hold its own in the midst of the 775s and the AM2s? It got me thinking today..."In order to save some money, should I just build a 939 build..?" I mean, the opteron, venice/san diego, etc cores are very durable and notable. Would you save up a little more and put together a decent AM2 build or cut some money to make a fast/middle-high class 939 build?
__________________

Jae is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Socket 939

i would buy a 775 or an AM2 rig as they are the latest socket mobo (775 being intel and AM2 being AMD), buying a 939 rig isnt really a step back at the moment just a step no-where, dual core 939 CPUS can cost way more than the equivalent AM2 CPUS, so i would if i were you buy a AM2 or 775 as they are mainstream at the moment
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Socket 939

i have a 939 and my games run fantastic, im thinking of goin Am2 but i have recentley brought a sony vaio vgn-c2s G but i thought my computers really fast and they are really cheap to make now. so its up 2 you, depends on what you use it for. My pc runs every game i got really well.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Re: Socket 939

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
i have a 939 and my games run fantastic, im thinking of goin Am2 but i have recentley brought a sony vaio vgn-c2s G but i thought my computers really fast and they are really cheap to make now. so its up 2 you, depends on what you use it for. My pc runs every game i got really well.
Can I ask what games you play?
Jae is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Socket 939

I also am using Socket 939 and it's super fast too. I've had my PC for more than two years already with no upgrades and it's playing every single game very nicely.

But if you're going for a new build, I suggest going for newer sockets though. Socket 939 is starting to fall back in time. Get AM2 or LGA775. They have a lot of budget boards there too.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: Socket 939

its just all depends on what your gonna be using it for. I mean if its jsut common usage with mild gaming i don't think it matters. Am2 or 775 probably would be the best for you however i don't think it matters really. Right now the prices on ddr2 is awesome which i beleive its running cheaper then ddr at this moment (i haven't looked into the prices to far)

Just make 2-3 builds of 1 of each one and then pick from there what would be better for your money/performance.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Socket 939

i have socket 939, not planning on upgrading for another 2-3years though, i might get an opteron and a new gpu though
Nick is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Socket 939

Socket 939 has been around for nearly 4 years now and each year, I thought about upgrading my PC. But unless I can see a significant speed increase over what I have, it's not worth it because what I have is pretty fast already. My system is 3 generations behind already when you compare what I have to quad core systems and DDR3 technology.

Not to mention these new solid state hard drives we have now. Boy are they expensive.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 05:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Socket 939

939s were discontinued, so the socket is dead... what's out there is all that is out there, no new CPU's are being made. With that said, the 939s operate at comparable speed to most AM2 CPUs.

939s use DDR RAM, while AM2 uses DDR2. That is the biggest difference. AMD continued on with the AM2, so the higher end CPUs are faster than where the 939s left off.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Re: Socket 939

whoops..anyway, I built 2 builds on newegg(one being am2 and the other, 939) the prices only differed at $80-$90..not much if you ask me
__________________

Jae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help finding my prossesor socket..... optimuscrime791 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-13-2007 01:01 AM
Wall socket computer H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 2 06-24-2007 06:04 AM
socket 939 and AM2 Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-28-2007 11:08 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
FS: Socket A Mobo, CPU, RAM combo FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 03-27-2007 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.