Socket 754 vs. 939 and Low Latency vs. Value RAM, HELP !! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Question Socket 754 vs. 939 and Low Latency vs. Value RAM, HELP !!

Building rig for gaming mostly, but on a budget. Question is, what's the advantage socket 939 has over 754 ? I was looking at a AMD64 3500+ Socket 939 but I may not be able to fit that in my budget. Now I'm looking at a AMD64 3200+ or 3400+ Socket 754 because they are a good bit cheaper. Will I regret not getting 939 ?
Also, I was thinking about Corsair XMS Extreme RAM 1GB(512x2) because of all the great reviews of it. But after reading a PC World article on how low latency memory dosen't offer substantial boosts, will I be ok buying something like Corsair Value RAM ? Remember this is for gaming. Do any of you use another brand of memory that's not "namebrand" like corsair or kingston for gaming and still get great results ? I have around $150 for RAM. Keep in mind I need 1GB. Don't wont to go over by more than that by $5 or so. But if XMS is that much better I may try. Please, offer suggestions.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can get a 3000+ or 3200+ in socket 939; the difference is a 2GHZ FSB rather than 1.6GHZ, and support for dual channel DDR RAM
I suggest you get a 3200+ socket 939 with an Abit AV8 3rd eye

personally I think you'd be better off getting PC4000 RAM if you want more performance, since lower latencies does not give that much performance boost
Transcend's PC4000 RAM performs better than Corsair's
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

Ohhh, so 754 dosen't support dual channel ram ? Ewww, I will definately get socket 939 now. Thanks for that info apokalipse !
__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yea, get socket 939. Somebody on this forum with socket 939 performs way better than I do even with an X800 Pro. You really want that duel channel capability, and also, PC4000 *drool* RAM. I have low latency RAM myself and it doesn't give that much of a performance increase.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Get the 939 because it supprots dual chanNel DDR RAM
Morpheus is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Get 939 socket because amd has future plans where you can plug in 2 proccessors into ONE 939 pin slot. Woohoo.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

apokalipse - The LDT Bus has the same configuration on all 64-bit platforms.

· HTT is rated at 800 Mhz (1600 Mhz @ 64-bit).

· The Bus can handle up to 1000 Mhz (2000 Mhz @ 64-bit).
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.