socket 754 obsolete? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 11:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

The 754 arent completly going to become obsolete with sempron now moving onto the platform quite a few people will still be intreasted in it but the A64 cpu's line wont carry on past the 3700+.
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

There is a whitepaper available on the AMD site on how the dual-cores will be released. According to it (I have posted it here elsewhere), AMD will bring out dual-cores on the 940, 939, and 754 platforms.

The 754 is to be the mobile platform, so, no, AMD is not about to drop it. If they are, it has escaped every legitimate news source found on DailyRotation.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 03:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'm a but disappointed that AMD has choosen to use the new mobiles on socket 754. I was considering buying one, although with the limited hypertransport speed, lack of dual channel and lack of 90nm cores, I don't think simply a mobile processor is going to convince me otherwise.

By the way, socket 940 is not Athlon 64. The Opteron is based on socket 940, and in some rare cases, the older FX series. The Opteron is still 64 bit capable though.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 05:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
By the way, socket 940 is not Athlon 64. The Opteron is based on socket 940, and in some rare cases, the older FX series. The Opteron is still 64 bit capable though.
Yeah, I know. That's why I specifically avoided the use of Athlon64 in my post. I used "dual-core" as a generic term to cover all of the 64-bit platforms.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Not refering to you mate, shoulda quoted the post I was looking at. I was clearing it up anyways, didn't mean to undermind anyone or anything of the sort.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

No prob.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, but I hope hope HOPE man that those 64-M's will migrate to socket 939...that will be niiiiice....dual cores will be going to servers, then desktops, then mobiles, so I just need me a 90nm dual core socket 939 mobile and I'll be set like the bee's knee's

EDIT: Besides it was known from the very beginning socket 754 wouldn't last...that's why everyone here was ALWAYS advised to wait and save money for socket 939
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I came here after i made my system :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You shoulda known to come here first!
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

I used to worry about getting a motherboard with a slot/socket type that would become obsolete, because that would prevent me from upgrading the processor. I stopped worrying about it. In building/upgrading my own machines for <more years than I care to admit>, I've only actually upgraded the processor in two motherboards. One was on a laptop, so it was cost effective and the other was a processor I got dirt cheap off of eBay. Usually, by the time I get around to thinking about a processor upgrade, I realize I really want a motherboard upgrade, too. So instead, I get a new motherboard/processor and my old motherboard/processor starts a musical chairs exercise through the other computers in the house. Maybe I'm just not upgrading often enough. (My wife has a significantly contrasting viewpoint to that possibility, however.)
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.